Hipster Shopper

I’ve been a lazy blogger lately. I’m *never* lazy when it comes to crafts though 😉 so I actually have many new things to show off on here that I made over the past months. I thought I’d begin with a specimen I decided to call Hipster Shopper, mostly because it’s vaguely inspired by the hipster fashion I see a lot where I live.

The silver plastic-y fabric is from my trip to Walthamstow Market and the lining from one of the amazing African fabric shops near Petticoat Lane (which I hope to write more about soon – they’re incredible). You better get used to the blue and red pattern – I got more than 5 metres of this fabric which means that it will probably end up as a dress, skirt and potentially a jumpsuit (I got ambitious plans!) once I start sewing for the summer again.

I have a very particular taste in bags and the great thing about making your own is that you can let your imagination run wild and include all the extra details and pockets you want. This one was modelled on an old ‘work’ bag of mine that served for many years, schlepping about my laptop, lunch-box and books until it eventually broke apart. In the silver version, I added a few extra centimetres at the top, so it easily fits both my laptop, my chunky dslr camera, and a lot of other stuff. It has an inside pocket that is essentially hidden thanks to an invisible zip, as well as two open pockets for phone, pens etc.

I made the bag early in the summer and it came in handy on several holiday trips. It is the perfect size for a carry-on on flights and, as you can see in the pictures, has already travelled widely.

Hipster 1

IMG_20150712_204615076 (1)

IMG_20150712_204636572 (2)

DSC_0442
Here it is, enjoying the Lisbon sunset.

DSC_0479

DSC_0478

Leave a Reply

